Are you OK with cookies?

We use small files called ‘cookies’ on to give you the best experience on our site. Some are essential to make the site work, and some help us understand how people use the site so that we can improve your experience. You can choose to turn off the non-essential cookies. Which cookies are you happy for us to use?

Our structure

Our governance

The Independent Monitoring Authority the for Citizens’ Rights Agreements (IMA) is an independent non-departmental public body. This means that although we are funded by the UK Government, we operate independently to ensure our work is objective and impartial.

As an independent; non-departmental public body, we are governed by our board and team of directors.


Board members

Our board will have six non-executive members:

  • Sir Ashley Fox (Chair)
  • Punam Birly
  • Joyce Cullen
  • Marcus Killick
  • Leo O’Reilly
  • To be appointed 2021

All are appointed by the Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice. The Board will meet six times in 2021. It delegates day to day management to the Chief Executive and staff. You can read our board agendas and minutes on this page.

Executive team

  • Kathryn Chamberlain (Interim Chief Executive)
  • Andrew Bagley, Director of Governance and Corporate Services
  • Rhys Davies, General Counsel
  • Pam Everett, Director of Operational Delivery

Framework document

This sets out the framework of our relationship with the Ministry of Justice (MoJ). It can be viewed here on our website.

Board meetings

Our Board will meet on:

  • Friday 22 January 2021
  • Thursday 18 February 2021
  • Thursday 18 March 2021
  • Thursday 17 June 2021
  • Thursday 16 September 2021
  • Thursday 16 December 2021

Board register of interest

Our Board register of interests is here.

Board agenda and minutes

Board agenda and minutes will be made available here.

Board Committees

The following Committees will be established once all Board members have been appointed; and will each meet on quarterly basis.

  • Audit and Risk Committee
  • Delivery and Impact Committee
  • HR and Remuneration Committee

Related information

Next page
Our people