Are you OK with cookies?

We use small files called ‘cookies’ on Some are essential to make the site work, some help us to understand how we can improve your experience, and some are set by third parties. You can choose to turn off the non-essential cookies. Which cookies are you happy for us to use?

Skip to content

Our structure

Our people

Our board

Sir Ashley Fox
Chair of the IMA

Sir Ashley is a business consultant providing strategic advice on the European Union. Sir Ashley formerly served as a Member of the European Parliament (MEP). He was first elected to the European Parliament in 2009 and represented the South West of England & Gibraltar for 10 years.

During his career in the European Parliament Sir Ashley was a member of the committee for Economic & Monetary Affairs where he was the rapporteur on Corporate Governance in Financial Institutions. He also served as spokesman on the Industry, Research and Energy committee where he authored the Parliament’s reports on Crowdfunding and also Artificial Intelligence and Robotics. In 2017 he founded the European Parliament’s All-Party Innovation Group.

Since 2015 he has been the lay member on the Leadership Nomination Committee of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors.

Before entering the European Parliament, Sir Ashley was a solicitor specialising in insurance litigation. He served as a City Councillor in Bristol from 2002-2010. He was knighted in 2019 for political and public service.

Appointed until 7 December 2024.

Ronnie Alexander

Ronnie is currently a Non-Executive Director with HM Inspectorate of Education and Training in Wales (Estyn). He is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit Committee. Additionally, Ronnie occupies the position of Independent Chair of the Standards Committee for Blaenau Gwent Borough Council. He is also a member of the Standards Committees for the Vale of Glamorgan Council and the South Wales Fire and Rescue Service.

Ronnie spent 20 years within the Welsh Government creating health protection policy and leading on climate change and health issues. Between 1994 – 2013, he was Chief Environmental Health Officer, Welsh Government.

Appointed until 16 March 2024

Punam Birly

Punam is a Solicitor of the Senior Courts of England & Wales and was a Partner at  KPMG LLP (UK) from 2008 – 2020. She was Head of Employment and Immigration within the Tax and Legal Services Practice and the lead on People related Brexit issues. She is also an international social security specialist. She previously worked at Andersen, Deloitte and PwC. During this time, Punam advised clients across all sectors including financial services, pharmaceuticals, retail and Oil & Gas on a range of people and employer related tax, social security, immigration, reward and employment matters. She advised multinational employers on cross border issues for frontier workers. She also advised employers and private equity firms on comparative country locations in which to establish new business, focusing on the regulatory aspects of establishing global employment companies. Punam is a Trustee of the Carers Network charity, based in London. 

Appointed until 7 December 2022.

Joyce Cullen

Joyce Cullen has practiced as a litigation solicitor in private practice for 39 years. She was admitted as a Solicitor Advocate in Scotland in 1995. She has held a public appointment as Non-executive Director of the Joint Management Board of the Office of the Secretary of State for Scotland and the Office of the Advocate General for Scotland, since 2015.

Ms Cullen was Chair of Brodies LLP from 2004 to 2013; Convenor of the Law Society of Scotland’s Employment Law Reform Sub-Committee from 2006 to 2018; Chair of the steering group of Elevate-Scotland from 2016 to 2019 and was appointed as Chair of the Board of Governors of George Heriot’s School in Edinburgh in 2020.

Appointed until 9 February 2024

Marcus Killick

Marcus is currently  the CEO at the ISOLAS LLP law firm, Chairman of the Gibraltar Insurance Association NED Forum, whilst also being part-owner of the Gibraltar Magazine. He has fulfilled non-executive roles across several organisations, including the Fiduciary Group, the Gibraltar International Bank, BetVictor Ltd, Callaghan Insurance Brokers Ltd, Masbro Ltd, Peninsula Underwriting Ltd, and the Commission of the Office of Fair Trading. Marcus served as the CEO of the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission for 12 years. During this time, he also fulfilled the Chairman position of the Group of International Insurance Centre Supervisors, as well as of the Gibraltar Investors Compensation Scheme and the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Board. Prior to performing these roles, Marcus was awarded the OBE in 2014 and is a Liveryman in the Worshipful Company of International Bankers.

Appointed until 7 December 2023.

Leo O’Reilly

Leo is a Non-Executive Audit and Risk Committee Member of the Office of the Police Ombudsman for Northern Ireland. He was a former civil servant in the Northern Ireland Civil Service with over 27 years’ experience as a senior civil servant covering a diverse range of functions and activities across government in both NI and GB.  These include over 11 years as the Permanent Secretary of three Northern Ireland departments.  He is also engaged in a number of voluntary activities associated with supporting leadership, administration and management in the education sector including as Chair of the Board of Governors of a voluntary grammar school in Belfast.

Appointed until 7 December 2023.

Our executive team

Dr Kathryn Chamberlain,
Chief Executive Officer

As Chief Executive, Kate is responsible for the day-to-day operations and management of the IMA and advising the board on how IMA are delivering its responsibilities. 

Kate is an experienced Chief Executive, having spent 7 years as the Chief Executive at Healthcare Inspectorate Wales. Previously Kate was the Welsh Government’s Chief Statistician and Head of Knowledge and Analytical Services.

Rhys Davies,
General Counsel

Rhys is responsible for leading the team advising the board on all aspects of the statutory functions of the IMA under the European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Act 2020.

Rhys trained and qualified as a lawyer with the Welsh Government Legal Services Department, where he spent 10 years in various roles. 

Andrew Bagley,
Director of Governance and Corporate Services

Andrew and his team ensure that the IMA is operating in accordance with recognised good corporate standards. They provide support on quality assurance, strategy, planning and performance; as well as other corporate services such as HR, IT and Finance. 

Andrew is a Chartered Accountant who qualified during his time with PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) where he specialised in private and public sector audit (internal and external). Andrew went on to work within Internal Audit for Vodafone, Associated British Foods and more recently the Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency (DVLA) as part of the Government Internal Audit Agency (GIAA).

Pam Everett,
Director of Operational Delivery

Pam and her team run the day-to-day operations of the IMA. This includes the receipt and assessment of complaints from the public, monitoring public authorities to make sure they are respecting the rights of EU and EEA EFTA citizens, and conducting inquiries to hold public bodies to account.

Pam is an analyst by training. She has spent most of her career in various roles at the Office for National Statistics and the UK Statistics Authority. Pam was also previously Chief Statistician at the Cabinet Office.